A Falk to Remember (Main page)

Putting Love for Movies into words. Not only Peter Falk movies. All movies.

The reviews you find on this website include spoilers, so only read about what you have watched. Spelling corrections are appreciated.
Reading the reviews will always be free of charge, but in case you enjoy the content and would like to give back, you can do so here.


Others:

Serrão (2021) – 1/5

Did almost nothing for me

„Serrão“ is a relatively new short film that premiered already in South America back in 2021, so it took the film fairly long to get here to the other continents, especially Europe where it just had its premiere a week ago or so and I got to watch this one today too. It is from Brazil of course and the writer and director is Marcelo Lin here and he is also a producer. This should not surprise anybody because producing is what he has done most so far according to imdb at least and also according to imdb this would be his first effort was director, although I am not totally sure if this accurate. In any case, I must say I was pretty disappointed by the outcome here. Lin is not new to the industry by any means, but judging from the quality here, I would say he still has a long way to go. To be honest, I am not even sure if what we saw in here were actors or if this is a documentary. This could of course also imply that it was a fairly authentic watch, but this is not what I mean. I also looked up some of the people you see in front of the camera here, but did not really find anything. This is the story of a rapper apparently who returns to his hometown and eventually decides to stay there for a little while. We hear him perform, but I did not like his music at all, so there is also no struggling musical genius component in here.

There was major focus on eyes here as well, artificial eyes I should say and I am not sure if this was a direct reference to one of the most known moments in film history. You probably know which scene I mean when I say really old black-and-white movie. In terms of eyes, everybody thinks about this one immediately. You see I am drifting a bit away from this one here now, but there is really not too much to say. I think the filmmaker was going for the atmospheric take here with views over the city, campfire etc. But I found none of the characters memorable at all. Maybe the slightly older woman came closest to this description, but the main character did almost nothing for me I would say and I guess the title comes from the letters we see in his hair as he included them as a message there I suppose at the very start, but this also really only felt for the sake of it and did not succeed in making a lasting impression. Early on, I hoped I could at least give it 2 out of 5 (or 4 out of 10) and this say it is a forgettable film, but the truth is I have to take more away even as this is a really poor movie. Highly not recommended.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Bloggen auf WordPress.com.